Speech Milestones

Begin Your Transformation Today

Speech Milestones

All the flowers bloom in their own time...

Developmental Speech Milestones:

By 18 months - Child produces 3 to 6 different consonant sounds with each child having a little different consonant inventory.

By 24 months – Initial Sounds - /p, b,m, t, n, d, h, k, g/ Final Sounds - /p, m, n/ Produces Most Vowel Sounds Correctly and at least 6-8 different consonant sounds.

By 28 months – Initial Sounds – /d, f/and /y/ Final Sounds - /s, d, k,f/ and “ng”

By 32 months– Initial Sounds - /w/ Final Sounds - /t, b, r/

By 36 months – Initial Sounds - /s/ Final Sounds - /l, g/ and “er” endings. Child uses at least 9-12 different consonant sounds.

By 40 months – Initial Sounds - /l, r/ Some consonant blends – bl, br, tr Final Sounds – /v/ and “sh”

By 44 months – Initial Sounds – “sh” and“ch” and Final Sound – “ch”

By 48 months – Initial – sp, st, kl

After 48 months– Initial - /z, v/ and “j”and th” Final - /z/ and “th” and “j” 

Click Here to Add a Title

Click this text to start editing. This block is great for showcasing a particular feature or aspect of your business. It could be a signature product, an image of your entire staff, an image or your physical location, etc. Double click the image to customize it.

RED FLAGS for Speech Disorders

Limited consonant sound use results in unintelligible speech and often indicates a motor speech disorder Apraxia or Phonological Disorder.

Click Here to Add a Title

Numerous Vowel Errors

Most children have mastered nearly all vowel sounds by age 2. Some errors are still acceptable are age 2, but by age 3, all vowels be mastered (with exception of /r/ vowels).

Wide spread Deletion of Initial Consonants

By 2 a child should use at least 3 to 4 different consonant sounds at the beginnings of words. By 3 a child should have a large repertoire of initial consonants.

Substitution of Back Consonants /k/ and /g/ or /h/ for a variety of Consonants

This is atypical phonological development and should be targeted even in very young children.

Deletion of Final Consonants after age 3

By 24 months in language delayed children some final consonant deletions are expected, but by 36 months, all children should be producing words with ending consonant sounds. Again there is variation in individual children, but for the most part, parents should understand close to all of what a child says by age 3, and strangers should understand all of what a child says by age 4, even if errors are still present.

For more information about speech disorders and how to treat them, check out these links.

American Speech, Language Hearing Association: www.asha.org

The Hanen Program: www.hanen.org

Beckman Oral Motor: www.beckmanoralmotor.com

Handwriting Without Tears: www.hwtears.com

The Scerts Model: www.scerts.com

The Floortime Foundation: www.floortime.org

The National Stuttering Association: www.nsastutter.org

Autism Institute: www.autisminstitute.com

The Autism Education Network: www.autismeducation.net

The Autism Society of America: www.autism-soceity.org

Beyond Play: www.beyondplay.com

SPD Network: www.spdnetwork.org

The Prompt Institute: www.promptinstitute.com

The Kaufman Speech Praxis Technique: www.kidspeech.com

Picture Exchange Communication System: www.pecs.com

Talk Tools Oral Motor Program: https://talktools.com/

Baby Signs® Program: www.babysigns.com

Zero to Three: www.zerotothree.org